April 10, 2016 at 3:00pm...
Alexander String Quartet

For a preview of this concert and to learn the background details of the music to be performed join Chuck Mishaan's informative talk on Wednesday, April 6th, 7:00 p.m. At the Starr Library in Rhinebeck.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
String Quartet in F Major KV. 168

    I. Allegro
    II. Andante
    III. Menuetto and Trio
    IV. Allegro

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
String Quartet No. 7 in F-sharp minor (Op. 108)

    1 Allegretto -
    2 Lento -
    3 Allegro - Allegretto - [Adagio]

_______________ Intermission ________________

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
String Quartet No. 13 in Bb major, op. 130

    Adagio, ma non troppo – Allegro
    Andante con moto, ma non troppo. Poco scherzoso
    Alla danza tedesca. Allegro assai
    Cavatina. Adagio molto espressivo

Große Fuge (Grande Fugue Op.133): Ouverture
    Allegro – Meno mosso e moderato – Allegretto – Fuga.
    [Allegro] – Meno mosso e moderato – Allegro molto e
    con brio – Allegro

Special thanks to Phyllis Feder and The Clinton Vineyards for the generous gift of wine to celebrate our 2015-2016 concert season.


Zakarias Grafilo violin 1
Frederick Lifsitz violin 2
Paul Yarbrough viola
Sandy Wilson cello

Having celebrated its 30th Anniversary in 2011, the ALEXANDER STRING QUARTET has performed in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premiere ensembles. Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart, and Shostakovich, the quartet's recordings of the Beethoven cycle (twice), and the Bartók and Shostakovich cycles have all won international critical acclaim.

The Alexander's 2009 release of the complete Beethoven Cycle was described by Music Web International as performances “uncompromising in power, intensity and spiritual depth,” while Strings Magazine described the set as “a landmark journey through the greatest of all quartet cycles.”

We are thrilled that the Alexander String Quartet will perform Beethoven’s quartet op. 130 in its original version together with the Große Fuge op. 133.

Click here for Alexander String Quartet web site.

Click here to join our mailing list and receive our e-mail newsletter!